Mother’s Day and Wedding Anniversary

I meant to write about Mother’s Day and our 2nd wedding anniversary on time but life (and my injury — will write more on this when I get the chance) got in the way. With special occasions and celebrations like these, however, it’s always better to be late than never.

Mother’s Day. So, I celebrated my first ever Mother’s Day last Sunday, sans the husband. I was a bit emotional the entire day because I was longing to celebrate this occasion with Gian but I had to understand the fact that our present circumstances won’t allow that desire to happen yet.  I had to take consolation in the fact that I got to celebrate Mother’s Day with my own mom – the superwo-mom of my life. Motherhood has taught me a lot of things, and humility is the best of them. Nanay showed me how motherhood requires selfless love and sacrifice. Lots of sacrifice, I have seen that in her. And now that I’m also a mom, I have become more appreciative of the sacrifices my own mother has to make for her children’s sake. Oh how I regret those times I made “know-it-all” retorts when I really didn’t know any better. Hah. Good thing that a mother’s love is unconditional, or I would be eating kangkong at the side of the street for my stubborn pride.

I have my own fears as a mother. I don’t know how whether I’ll be able to do all the things my Nanay did for her family. I feel that I will never be like her. But all I need to do is to try, right? To strive to give my all into becoming a good mother to Ikay. And having said that, I should start working (again!) on my cooking skills. I have to learn to love the kitchen. Haha!

The Worship Service at church last Sunday had a very meaningful Mother’s Day celebration, and I want to share this tribute to mothers that we read as part of the liturgy:

Mothers come in many different forms, and today we celebrate them all!

Thank God for mothers! 

Everyone here is either a son or a daughter;

Thank God for my mother!

 For those women who have joined God in Heaven and whom we miss dearly here on earth;

Thank God for the mothers of the past. 

For every woman who is working day and night to raise her children right now;

Thank God for the mothers of today.

For all the women who are expecting, but aren’t quite mothers yet!

Thank God for the soon-to-be mothers.

For those women who have lost a child to death and must carry on;

Thank God for the mothers who are strong.

For all the women who have desperately wanted to have children of their own, but chose instead to mother everyone else;

Thank God for the mothers in spirit.

We thank you, Lord, for the women who have influenced our lives in so many ways. We pray that we will honor them in everything we do. Amen.

*****

 

Wedding Anniversary. Last Monday was our 2nd wedding anniversary. It had been a full day for me at work (and Gian’s, too), however, and we almost forgot that it was our anniversary. Two years of marriage, and already we are forgetting this one special occasion in our lives. Is that a cause for worry?

Good thing that I was able to remedy the situation before the day ended. To be honest? I felt a bit discontented with the way we “celebrated” our anniversary. More than ever, I am longing for Gian and I to be together. This has been the ardent desire of our hearts but we are still waiting for a clearer vision as to how we are going to manage our little family.. I must admit that I have already become impatient, but I am learning how to trust the God who knows what is best for us.

Baby steps.

confetti

About Lynai

Wife to my first and only boyfriend, mom to a very active toddler, lawyer, teacher, and a pilgrim always in need of grace.
This entry was posted in Events and Celebrations and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Any comment? Do let me know! :)

